Leadership

I’m currently a sophomore in high school, but my school year hasn’t started yet. My dream school is Stanford University. I tried to run for Freshman class president but another girl got voted in. I guess she’s more popular than me. She’s planning to run for Sophomore class president as well. I feel like I don’t have a chance against her. But I’m more qualified for the position and my classmates don’t realize. Will Stanford realize that student government is just a popularity contest?

Every person in the history of the universe knows that.

Technically, you are a freshman. If your school year has ended, you can say you are a rising sophomore.

Regardless, you are spending too much time focusing on Stanford. Other than striving to do your best, it’s really to early to think of any specific colleges anyway. Get good grades, find some ECs you enjoy, prepare (when the time comes) for standardized testing. That’s all you can/should really do now. But know that one EC will not make or break an application, nor will a grade less than 100, nor will an SAT/ACT < 1600/36.

I am going to be blunt. This sounds like elementary schoolgirl stuff. You are a rising sophomore. Best to open your eyes and ears to many schools with wonderful potential for a wonderful education. Elite schools will look to see what you are like as a person, the problem solving you do for yourself and others, what creative juices you bring to their school. Explore ways you can make a difference. Starting multiple threads on how to get into Stanford is not going to achieve that goal.

Thank you for your honesty. I do realize now I sound like a child

Take a look at Stanford’s decision threads to get an idea of what kind of EC’s/Leadership are needed to be a competitive applicant and then work on designing your own leadership position.

https://talk.collegeconfidential.com/stanford-university/1973361-stanford-class-of-2022-discussion-decisions.html

Thank you