Master's in CS without having majored in it...

<p>This might be a stupid question, but I can't figure out where to start to find this kind of thing elsewhere. I'm currently an undergrad majoring in linguistics and minoring in computer science. I'd really like to go for a PhD in computational linguistics from a CS department, but in order to do so, my background will need to be more substantial than just having minored in it. I stumbled upon this description of UT Austin's CS Master's program on their website:</p>

<p>"The Masters program is designed to be flexible enough to accommodate the needs of two kinds of students: those who have just completed an undergraduate degree in computer science and want to further their studies, and those with degrees in areas other than CS who seek to broaden their education in the discipline. For admission to the program, however, even those with non-CS degrees must have a strong enough background in CS courses that the admissions committee can make educated judgments about their potential for success in a graduate program. The extent of the background coursework that is required is a decision made by the admissions committee."</p>

<p>The</a> University of Texas at Austin - Department of Computer Sciences - Academics</p>

<p>My most important question about this is: does anyone know if there are any other CS Master's programs that accommodate students who didn't major in it? Also, how would I go about finding them? Secondly, does anyone know if a minor in computer science would meet the admissions requirements for such a program?</p>

<p>Thanks a lot.</p>

<p>A minor in computer science should qualify you for many Master's programs in computer science. Austin's PhD program defines an adequate undergraduate background as follows. </p>

<p>
[quote]

Computer Architecture
Operating Systems
Programming Languages or Compilers
Theory of Computation or Algorithms

[/quote]