MIT Graduate school of engineering; Carnegie Mellon Graduate school of engineering

<p>Hi Im 19 years old and currently a freshman undergraduate at an accredited Devry University (not technical institute) in Illinois, and I currently have a 4.0 GPA and am pursuing my bachelor's in computer/electrical engineering. The program is for 3 years to earn your bachelors and the school functions by trimester. I was thinking about applying for undergraduate transfer to MIT or Carnegie Mellon but I have decided to I guess try and sign up for Graduate school of engineering in whichever of these schools I get accepted to. The problem is the money, is it possible to get a full ride if not up to $10,000 a year in scholarship (not including grants/loans just a scholarship)? Also, would they even consider a Devry student? Besides a 4.0 GPA what else would I need to adapt to while I am still a freshman to keep alive the possibility of gaining access to the world's number one school for engineering (or in this case top 2 schools counting CMU)?</p>

<p>Graduate school admissions and funding depends on a number of factors: undergrad GPA, GRE scores, statement of purpose, letters of recommendation, relevant work/research/publications. In an STEM field, if you are not good enough to receive full funding for a Ph.D. program, you aren't good enough to get a job as a Ph.D. after completing that degree. Funding for an M.S. or M. Eng. is less likely, but will depend on the program that accepts you.</p>

<p>The faculty at your current university know which of their former students have been admitted to graduate programs at different universities in recent years, and they know what GPA and experiences those students had while still undergraduates. Make an appointment with your advisor to talk about getting ready for grad school. He/she will have ideas for you.</p>

<p>Wishing you all the best.</p>