Now a "B student", have to change college plans?

<p>Hello :) </p>

<p>In the past, I was a straight A student, until I got my first B sophomore year in AP Chem. It really was no big deal since I didn't worship my 4.0 and I learned a lesson about effort and perseverance.</p>

<p>However, during second semester sophomore year, I ended up with 3 B's (out of my 5 classes). I went through a major surgery that put me back a week or two, but it was mainly due to my poor study habits (that rapidly declined after AP exams).</p>

<p>I am trying very hard to develop better study habits and have talked to my counselor about taking a more manageable course load for junior year.</p>

<p>I would really appreciate some advice from parents about realistic college choices after my 4 B's this year though. I never had specific colleges in mind, but I was considering top liberal arts colleges like Swarthmore, Wesleyan, etc (small, intimate colleges that are academically challenging). However, now I wonder if there are other choices out there that might be more attainable. Or am I just 'over dramatizing' my situation?</p>

<p>I think it is too soon to write anything off. You still have the SAT/ACTs. I think you still have 2 years to work on developing strong study skills. I think you just need to refocus, prioritize, and finish strong. Good luck to you. Dream your dreams. But be willing to work to make them come true.</p>

<p>There are wonderful liberal arts colleges like Swat and Wes but just a bit less selective. But the ones you chose I am going to guess you are left leaning. Bard is just one idea. More centrist is Dickinson. Skidmore is another idea.</p>

<p>There are so many colleges that offer intimate classroom experiences and really thoughtful pedagogy. I don't think you have to worry to much.</p>

<p>I think AP Chem does many a good student in.</p>