Oh no, I think my FB page is now hacked. What do I do?

I accepted a friend request from someone I already know. I accepted their friend request. (I have recently deleted people I don’t really communicate with and thought this person was just refriending me).

So, then I get a message saying not to friend, she’d been hacked.

So now what do I do? I can’t see anyone else on my list, so they must be invisible.

Will I have to deactivate my account and start a new one?

No. See this article:
https://www.hoax-slayer.net/what-is-facebook-cloning-and-how-can-i-protect-myself-from-it/

Change your password.

She wasn’t really hacked. It was a clone. Just unfriend the cloned account. You can’t get a virus or be hacked through that. There are actually a lot of fake “hacked” messages going around. It’s all a big annoyance, but not normally a hacking. Sure, change your password for peace of mind, but it’s really not a danger.

Someone set up an account with my mother-in-law’s name. A lot of her friends and relatives accepted her request before my spouse realized it was a fake and contacted her. She contacted Facebook and they deleted the other person’s account.

See item #1 in the article linked above. Set your friends list to “friends only” so that the whine world can’t see your friends list. The whole point of cloned accounts is to connect with all your friends.

I changed my password, and also set up an authorization where if someone tries to access my FB account, a six digit code is texted to me. My FB is just friends only, but if I accepted the invite, then they are now my friend, correct? I don’t see anything other than my original friend there. I read hackers can be a blind friend, so you don’t know if they are there. Not sure if that’s true.

I’ll go read that article.

There’s no such thing as a “blind friend”. The cloned account is no longer your FB friend because FB removed it. You’re good - just don’t accept any more requsts from friends you already have.

Yeah, this happens a lot. If I get a request from a friend whom I know I’ve already friended, I ignore it. One clue is that the fake account usually has very few friends, mutual or other.

Ok, thanks all. I’m relieved.