On Tiers and Chances

<p>So, can somebody explain this "tier" thing to me? More specifically, do I stand a chance of getting into a decent English grad program if I got to Kent State? I am majoring in English and Philosophy, am doing an independent study, writing an honors thesis, and currently have a 3.878 and so on. I am also taking a graduate English course </p>

<p>Er, does any of this really matter seeing that I am going to Kent? </p>

<p>Candor won't bother me.</p>

<p>Pro's: You seem to have good creditential, and Kent State isn't a third tier school, but somewhere around a second. A third tier school isn't just a school that isn't nationally renowned. It's a school that is like, Western Eastern State University of North Dakota Christian.</p>

<p>Con's: English grad programs are mad hard to get into.</p>

<p>Okay, how exactly is "tier judgment" decided upon? External rankings? Is it even a formal system?</p>

<p>Also, can anybody elaborate upon what, in essence, makes a third tier school what it is? --- thanks</p>

<p>"Third Tier" is usually based on rankings, because that is the only way you can classify schools and thus bestow a "tiered" system on them. Usually Third Tier schools have poor funding, limited grants for research and faculties that are unimpressive. However, some third tier schools will have specific programs that are very good. An example would be FSU that, although not a third tier school, is by no means a first tier school, and yet it has one of the best Film programs in America.</p>