One day to test... two tests to take...

<p>Should I retake my SAT or attempt a few subject tests on the October date? (I'm doing Questbridge, so I only get one chance.)</p>

<p>SAT: 2280 (740 M, 740 CR, 800 W)
ACT: 35
SAT II's: 750 Lit, 760 USH, 780 Bio</p>

<p>I'm planning to be a math major. And I'm currently studying Physics/Spanish on my own, so I'd be taking SAT II's in those three subjects. However, I've heard 2280 is a tad weak for HYP and the sort. My math skill is shown in other ways, 99+ averages in all math courses, self-studied Cal BC (score of 5), taking Cal III and Linear Algebra at local university senior year. Also, the day I took my SAT, I was pretty sick, so I'm confident I could raise my score 50 points. For the subject tests I'm taking, I'd estimate 750 on each one. Which would benefit my application more?</p>

<p>You have some great stats going there, Coyote.</p>

<p>Please, please hit the 'net, go to the admission website for every college to which you will apply and make your college spreadsheet to include application deadlines, early/rolling details, tests required, whether you must apply to a certain college within a university, etc. I think you will find that you are going to need a math SAT II, and specifically math 2. Maybe not...but it all depends on where you plan to apply....</p>

<p>None of them actually require that subject test.</p>

<p>True, but it sounds as if you're aiming for some pretty competitive places. While it certainly would be nice if you could raise your SAT scores a bit more, I think that, considering your potential major, you really should go for the subject test. It shows the colleges more about yourself-- especially if you do very well-- than a simple retake of the SATs. Greater breadth of material covered, and is another eyecatching part to your application, compared to an impressive SAT score and then... blankness (I know that's a bit overdramatic, considering you've already taken several subject tests.)</p>