OOS CC > CCC > UCLA as Math/Econ Major

<p>Background: I am currently enrolled in an out of state community college and will transfer to SMC in the fall. I have 70 quarter credits (~46 semester) and plan to complete an additional 30 in fall and spring. Based on the information from SMC's IGETC documentation, I should be able to complete all major prerequisites and IGETC within two semesters. I have a 4.0 GPA with no P/NP classes and both Economics prereqs completed. I am finishing the third quarter of Calculus now, but will need to take Multivariable Calculus, Discrete Structures, Linear Algebra, and Differential Equations at SMC.</p>

<p>My dilemma is the lack of available classes to complete math prerequisites. As a new student, my registration date has pushed me out to the 20th. One class I anticipated taking is now full, and I still cannot register for another week. The remaining classes are turning into a challenge to schedule since two of them are at the same time and another two are 10 minutes apart. So I would like opinions on a few hypotheticals...</p>

<p>Would I stand a better chance transferring with IGETC and one major prereq missing, or no IGETC and all prereqs completed? I understand the UCs strict nature regarding prerequisites, but many schools do not offer higher level classes like discrete structures (one of the reasons why I am transferring) so my impression reading other's accounts of transferring as Math/Econ majors is that there was some wiggle room.</p>

<p>Will it affect my chances if I only take one math class this semester and leave three for spring?</p>

<p>I have read about the difficulty of Nestler's classes. Since SMC does not allow +/-, how will one B affect transfer chances? Will this undermine my previous coursework?</p>

<p>Also, the Math/Econ major is not impacted if that in any way makes a difference.</p>

<p>Thanks you!</p>