Packing advice needed, please - how to get the most stuff into a suitcase

<p>D is studying in China this fall and we are strategizing about how to fit four months' worth of stuff into a single suitcase. I know about putting socks in shoes but otherwise I am a packing novice. Any experts have any other tips?</p>

<p>Compression bags?!</p>

<p>I have started using packing cubes/envelopes, and I love them. They make packing/organizing so much easier. And they compress the clothing, so much more can fit. They come in different sizes/shapes.</p>

<p>The</a> Container Store > Eagle Creek® Black Pack-It® Folders</p>

<p>The</a> Container Store > Eagle Creek® Black Pack-It® Cubes</p>

<p>Great idea--I had no idea that there is such a thing! I had thought about the space-saver bags that you suck the air out of with a vacuum, but D will be in Beijing for a few days before going to Harbin and will need to unpack and repack at least some stuff. The compression bags look much simpler to use, and would help organize. I am slightly worried about weight limits but the suitcase she is using is very lightweight, and even if we have to pay extra because the bag ends up overweight, it is still cheaper than shipping stuff to China.</p>

<p>I love the Eagle Cree packing system too. One small cube for socks, one for undies, a bigger one for T-shirts/shorts/whatever, and the stuff you want to keep nice so it doesn't need to be ironed goes into the envelope. At the destination, you have instant drawer organizers. Un-packing and re-packing are almost painless!</p>

<p>I use the smallest sized cube for all the small office tools (scissors, mini-stapler, roll of tape) and electronic gadget charging cords. Two days ago I was at Target, and saw that they now sell their own version of the cubes which could save a bunch of money.</p>