Part time employment

<p>Due to a sudden change in family situation I need to find a part time job for college. What is the best way for a freshman to find part time employment? Also, I have experience as a caregiver in a nursing home, working as a math tutor, and being a dish washer, do you think any of these skills/past experience will make it easier to find part time employment? Is there any program for finding tutoring jobs? Thanks in advance!</p>

<p>The</a> Career Center ; Linking Futures</p>

<p><a href="http://www.career.fsu.edu/sep/index.html%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://www.career.fsu.edu/sep/index.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p>

<p>The career center at FSU can help you find a job. In addition, there will be a part-time job fair there the first week of classes.</p>

<p>If you have taken a recent financial hit, check in with the financial aid office too and explain your present financial situation. Even if they have already given you a financial award, the financial aid officers may be able to make adjustments to assist you with your new situation including offering work/study if they haven't already.</p>

<p>Where will the job fair be located?</p>

<p>here is a link to the job fair</p>

<p>Part-Time</a> Job Fair 2010 - The Career Center – Linking Futures</p>

<p>As the very first link in the thread explained,

[quote]
Learn about part-time job opportunities on and off campus.
Thursday, August 26, 10 a.m.-2 p.m., Union Ballrooms

[/quote]
</p>

<p>Thank you guys! =]</p>

<p>@Lizard
Although I'm not going to post this on a public online form - it basically results in the legal need of proving financial independence. My scholarships and loans combined cover my entire cost of FSU (Room, Board, Tuition, transportatioon, books) and all I need is a job that makes something around 8 grand annually in order to show that I am able to be financially independent and not receive money from any family member. So, I'm not really sure the financial aid office can do anything this year, which is fine, but when I fill out FAFSA next January FSU will be legally obligated to calculate my financial need based on my income and assets rather than my parents'. </p>

<p>@Sunnyflorida
Thank you for the links they were very helpful; although, I have one more question. I have two labs weekly and they are usually from 1-4 or 2-5 in the afternoon. Do you think this will interfere with part time employment. Do employers usually accommodate you for this kind of thing? If not any job that would be likely to accommodate?</p>

<p>My guess is that you will need to look for a job with evening and weekend hours.</p>

<p>ar, hope you can get everything worked out--what you're trying to do getting independent status is beyond my expertise for sure. The only advice I can give you is to seek competent advice now including maybe talking to an attorney, a tax advisor, the FSU financial aid office, etc. Good luck.</p>

<p>Check at FSU to be a tour guide. You could also start looking into being a RA for next year. This would help you with your cost of housing and you may get a small part of a meal plan.</p>

<p>Tour guides are volunteers and are not paid. It is an interview/competitive honor. RA's do get a credit towards housing and are paid for the hours they work the desk.</p>

<p>@Lizard - Thanks - I have researched all the legal/fiscal requirements - all i really need to do now is prove financial independence.
@SunnyFlorida An RA looks like a good job for next year and yeah I will def need to search for a job with evening and weekend hours - I am only going with 15 credits a semester to make this easier.</p>

<p><a href="http://www.fsu.edu/%7Eww2/college_work_study.htm%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://www.fsu.edu/~ww2/college_work_study.htm&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p>

<p>If you have college work study and are interested in research I would suggest you check out this link above. If it is something you want to pursue send this office an email expresing your interest.</p>