PLEASE help with Citizenship portion of common app profile!

I came to the US when i was about 8 months old, and my parents don’t know for sure if I have a visa or a green card. They’re giving me vague answers instead. According to my parents I don’t have a green card even if I am a permanent resident, and the commonapp website is asking for a scan of my green card. My parents only have my work permit which they insist I can just upload instead of the green card…Is that true? I don’t know what to do.

bump!!! please, i need an answer as soon as possible

it turns out that i have a pending greencard…what does that mean??? My parents are screaming at me insisting that the work permit will work but i don’t know. Can someone please give me an answer?

Were you adopted by US citizens or brought here by immigrant parents?

Green cards aren’t actually green. They are an i.d. card with your picture that says “United States of America Permanent Resident” at the top. Is that what you have? I can’t understand why a child would have a work permit unless it is issued by the state you live in.

i was bought here by immigrant parents

Since you are not replying maybe this will help. If you are 18 you need to take some steps yourself. I can’t imagine why your parents wouldn’t have this straightened out before you were old enough to work or get a job.

http://www.uscis.gov/greencard

i have no idea either but it’s an employment authorization card and I don’t have anything else. According to my mother I don’t have a visa or a greencard (yet) but i was able to get in through her Visa. However, she still insists that I can just scan the work permit and send it to them because they won’t care.

Does this mean you’ve been residing in the US for ~17 years now with unclear legal status?