Possible fraud related situation...

<p>I know this probably sounds stupid of me... </p>

<p>My parents were legally divorced some years ago (before I started college anyway). However, they have always lived together regardless. This was done for the financial benefits with regards to financial aid for school. For a while, I thought that this was some sort of legal loophole they were using, though I had my suspicions at times. I just recently found out that this likely fraud. </p>

<p>On the fafsa, my mother is always listed as the primary provider (which for the most part, she is). However, we are the only two people listed for the household. Now I'm no expert at fafsa or finance related things, but can anyone here please provide me some advice on what to do in this situation?</p>

<p>This is one of those odd areas.</p>

<p>It's not really honest to say that only you and your mom are in the household because it implies that only the mom is paying for the household expenses - when likely your dad is paying for some/half.</p>

<p>If your parents are legally divorced, and not subject to common law rules, I doubt that it constitutes fraud as they are not deceiving anyone about their legal status. It is up to a judge to award a divorce decree, not the DoE. FAFSA rules are very clear that, in the case of divorce, only the custodial parent's info is used. But the term custodial parent may have been misinterpreted by your parents since you obviously spend your time equally with both. If you're using your mom's info solely because she makes less money, but your father actually contributes more to the household and therefore to your support, it is your dad's the parent's income/assets that should be reported. If not, then you're probably fine...you can call the FAFSA help desk (anonymously) and confirm this with them.</p>