Possible teacher switch for junior year?

<p>I am 16, a high school junior, and future vocal performance major. I have had the same teacher for four years. He was my teacher for MT, and for the past two years, classical. I always look forward to seeing him. My family thinks I'm "in love" with him as a teacher. But over the past two years, I've had my times of doubt. For one, while he knows I'm aiming for vocal performance in college, he always thinks I'm in a grade younger than I am. When I was a sophomore, he kept on saying "oh, you're a freshman, right?" and now, as a junior he sometimes says, "oh you're on a great track for top schools - because you're in 10th grade, right? " When I remind him that I'm a junior, he says "oh, well you're doing fine." </p>

<p>Also, he hasn't been historically great with helping me with repertoire choices. Still, when I sing, 99% of the time, people say "It is obvious that you have a great teacher". I've placed in every competition that I've done locally, but not at the first two national competitions I went to over the spring and summer. I got great comments, but at one of them, repertoire choice was one of the negatives that may have cost me the next round. While I was hesitant, he assured me it would be fine to go with one of my pieces. He also doesn't really give me the chance to say that I don't like a song. He tells me something will be great for me, and then I pretty much have to sing it. </p>

<p>I recently sang a short recital, and someone that spoke to me told me I should try some new teachers - maybe women, as I am a soprano voice. I'm not really sure what I should be doing, and I'd feel bad for letting go of a good teacher - I wouldn't know how to do that. I just want to make sure that when I apply for schools, I'm getting into the best ones on my list. I'm confident in my potential, but sometimes I feel like maybe I'm not maximizing it.</p>