Q about academic calendar

<p>Hi,
I am a prospective transfer student hoping to matriculate in the fall 2012 semester trying to cement my summer plans. The friend that I want to travel with has summer session at a community college until August 9. According to the academic calendar, the fall semester starts on August 16th but instruction begins on August 23rd. Could you explain to me what happens during that week? If I must be at school (with the hope that I will be accepted to Berkeley) then I will have no choice but to travel within a very specific time frame (Aug 10-Aug 15) but we wanted to have an entire week since we are considering leaving the contiguous US for Oahu. (I've been saving up for my first big adventure for years so I'm really looking forward to Hawaii and bummed out that I might not be able to go)</p>

<p>Thank you for your help,
M.</p>

<p>Classes don't officially start until August 23rd. Therefore, you can vacation up until then if you so desire. However, I suggest that you come here by monday of the week that classes start to take part in the different welcome events. Additionally, move in for the dorms start the saturday before the first week of classes as well. Therefore, you don't have to come back by August 16th but perhaps by August 18th would be good.</p>

<p>Oh, okay! That makes much more sense to me now.
I'll most likely travel from August 10 to August 17 and I'll still be able to participate in most of the welcome week activities. I live in San Jose so I think it won't feel like too much of a time crunch coming from Hawaii then going to school.</p>

<p>Thanks for being so helpful (and so quick to respond!). I really appreciate it.</p>

<p>What do you plan to do on Oahu?</p>

<p>If you like raw fish, look for the poke bar in any grocery store (poke = marinated sashimi).</p>