Question about EE grad school

<p>Hey all, I noticed there was a more general thread about taking time off to work before going to grad school but I am curious about how engineering grad programs view that. </p>

<pre><code> As far as EE is concerned, my three main interests are microelectronics, controls and maybe systems engineering (it's worth noting I don't have too much experience with systems engineering but from just general knowledge it seems interesting).

A management degree also interests me. Should I decide to go that route I figure I'd get work experience before going for an MBA or MSEM (master of engineering manag.). I have some management experience running a 24 person department at a surgical tool manufacturer that went incredibly well and I enjoyed it. Although a degree doesn't guarantee me a management job in a tech company, it may assist.
</code></pre>

<p>Bottom line: Should I take at least a year off and work in industry to determine what to go to grad school for, or, should I go straight into an grad EE program just using my best judgment and if I choose to, later on go for a management degree?</p>

<p>Work experience is not very valuable in grad school admissions and neither are letters of recommendation from managers. Letters from professors, on the other hand, are probably the greatest factor in admissions. And those are best when your professors still remember you and the work you did with them. If you decide to work first, you will likely have to go to a lower ranked school than you would have otherwise been able to get into. If the strength of the program doesn't concern you, then I suppose it wouldn't matter.</p>