Relevance of an Indian Classical Instrument in Highly Selective BS Admissions

I understand boarding schools value inclination towards musical instruments but have so far not come across any apart from Western Classical Instruments - mainly ones used either in the orchestra, or marching bands, etc.

I have been playing the Tabla for 5 years and have passed my examinations with distinction.

Even though I will be able to continue learning the Tabla (most BS offer private tuition for it), I most probably won’t be able to participate in the Classical orchestra or marching band.

Will the top-7 BS value still value it, and will it increase my chances of acceptance?

Thank you.

They are unlikely to value it in the sense that you are bringing to the school something it needs, like a soccer goalie or a trombone for the orchestra. But it can make your application stand out and for schools that have a global/diversity emphasis, this could be appealing.

In the end, it will be what this reflects about you. Not that you do it.

3 Likes

Many top colleges are valuing diversity of all kinds and getting away from the absolute focus on Western Music. I don’t know if this has trickled down to boarding schools. If you are applying to larger schools, it is possible there will be others who can play in an ensemble with you. Or student composers who can write for you. You may actually be able to play along with some Western instruments. I would think that talent with the tabla would be highly valued and hope to hear it is.

Your commitment and hard work also say quite a bit about your character and work ethic.

1 Like

I don’t think it is relevant in the way you are hoping, it is not going to be such a strong hook as to get you admitted. However, it might be interesting enough to make your application stand out and if you are applying to larger BSs that don’t need you to fill a bucket, being interesting may be enough if the rest of your application is excellent.

1 Like