reporting a D to ucsc

<p>To The University of Santa Cruz Office of Admissions,</p>

<pre><code> I'm an admitted transfer student for UCSC Fall 2010. I am contacting the admissions committee to inform the University of receiving a 'D' in Philosophy 13, and an 'NP' in Pre-Calculus for the Spring term of 2010 from Merced Community College. I received a 'B' in Spanish, a 'B' in Psych 1B, a 'B' in Physical Science, and a 'C' in Communications. I am currently enrolled in Pre-Calculus, Phil 13, and Art History for the summer session.
The 2009-2010 school year was a difficult struggle for many personal reasons. The 2009-2010 school year does not reflect who I am as a student. My sister passed in September and I was two weeks past the drop date. All the appeal counselor could tell me was, "If you're an hour late to work, and you get in a car accident, you're still an hour late to work. I cannot remove the 'W's from your transcript." After my transcript was tarnished from fall '09 I tried to make-up the classes I could not complete. I was told by a general counselor AND my transfer counselor that I needed to complete Phil 13 to maintain UC eligibility. It wasn't until I met with a UC transfer counselor from UCM that I discovered that the class was a waste of time and not even necessary for my 60 units. During the Spring semester I was enrolled in 21 units while working and coping with the loss of my only sister. I piled on more than I had time for. I also would have successfully passed pre-calculus h
</code></pre>

<p>ad I not taken on the unnecessary load of Phil 13. Phil 13 was my first philosophy class, and my being introduced to the toulmin method. Pre-cal was also another first. As a result of theses burdens my gpa suffered, but I will bring it back above a 3.0 this summer. I need to complete a Phil 13 again with a passing grade in order to complete in an academic renewal. This will boost my gpa up dramatically.