Risky essays for far reach school?

<p>Hi,
I'm just curious that when I write the colleges that I am not that likely be admitted such as USC (i think it's not that possible for me), should i try to write a more "risky" essay instead? my philosophy is that since I don't have a big chance of getting in already, should I just take a big risk?
My GPA and SAT score is pretty low compared to their applicants. I have 1920 on SAT combined so far and 3.78 weighted GPA (3.58 UW). Moreover, i'm an asian international student and from what I know, that is a fairly big disadvantage?</p>

<p>Is there a chance for a student to be admitted because he or she writes really well regardless of GPA and SAT/ACT? ( well, if she or he is in mid-range of the application pool of a school)</p>

<p>Depends on the essay you're thinking of. I would say shoot for more creative rather than calling it "risky." But yes, I would go all out on the essays.</p>

<p>Answer mine? <a href="http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/what-my-chances/1260515-chance-senior-georgetown.html%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/what-my-chances/1260515-chance-senior-georgetown.html&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p>

<p>Yes. I think risky essays are the way to go with reaches. Trust me as someone has has worked in college admissions, another self serious, this is why I excelled in MUN essay, won't get you into a reach.</p>

<p>I don't really understand when you said, " Trust me as someone has has worked in college admissions, another self serious, this is why I excelled in MUN essay, won't get you into a reach," especially the "MUN" part. Could you please explain a little bit more?</p>

<p>^He's talking about a typical boring/cliche essay, because a ton of kids just write about a club they did and how they excelled in it.</p>