SAT II Biology Question (Monera Kingdom)

<p>Is Monera still considered a kingdom for the SAT II Biology Exam? I know it's not tested on the AP Biology Exam anymore but my 2006 REA SAT II Biology (2nd ed.) Review Book still discusses the Monera Kingdom as being a main branch containing Eubacteria and Archaebacteria.</p>

<p>Thanksin advance!</p>

<p>According to my Barron's 2007 Bio SAT II book, Monera is no longer considered a kingdom.</p>

<p>Hmm... according to my PR 2009 Bio SAT II it is still considered a kingdom :D</p>

<p>Maybe it switched and then switched back? xD</p>


<p>to edit that sorry, monera is out! :)</p>

<p>does anyone know what definitively has changed from say, 2005 to the present for the sat ii biology test? does it go by domains or the outdated 5 kingdoms?</p>


<p>Here's the breakdown of classification for SAT Bio currently</p>

<p>3 Domains, Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukarya respectively in the order of evolution</p>

<p>Eukarya is further broken down into 4 Kingdoms, Protista, Plantae, Fungi, and Animalia.</p>

<p>Protista is further broken down into 7 phyla, Rhizopoda, Apicomplexa, Ciliophora, Myxomycota and Acrasiomycota, Euglenophyta, Bacilariophyta, and Phaeophyta.</p>

<p>Plantae is broken down into Byrophyta, Pterophyta, Coniferophyta, Anthophyta (which is further broken down into monocots and dicots)</p>

<p>Fungi is borken down into Zygomycota and Basiodiomycota</p>

<p>Animalia is broken down into 8 further phyla which I believe everyone's pretty familiar with</p>

<p>Hope that clarifies things, the domans are in use, not the 5 kingdom division (which, by the way, my school textbook still uses lol).</p>

<p>Monera was phased out in the 1990s</p>

<p>im sure it wont be on the SAT 2 bio test</p>