Should my parents care about how much I study and other stuff?

<p>My parents haven't really cared how much I study/My ECs etc. But this week my mom was like "you're a junior, perhaps you shouldn't be wasting so much time online/watching DVDs etc, and study?"</p>

<p>and i was like "HA! helicopter parents are bad!"</p>

<p>if my parents are telling me to study more/stop wasting time shouldn't it not be their business?? shouldn't i be self-motivated anyways, since it's MY future...does that count as helicoptering. if they tell me, "perhaps you should study more for your tests," does that break the rules of "do things you are PASSIONATE about and not do it to please your parents/go to college etc." :P</p>

<p>plus my parents dont have a clue. im a straight A student and there's really not much to study anyways. they're just like, "well then perhaps you can improve on the AIMEs/bio olympiad etc." but the people who are going to make camp/usamo have been studying for years >.< so there's not much i can do now. I guess they have good intentions, because I really shouldn't be spending so much time online anyways :D (especially on CC look at my post count ^_^)</p>

<p>so i just spend lots of time...not doing anything...which they think is wasting time.....and I do ECs, too, i guess, but they dont know that and think whenever I'm in school at a club meeting they think im at a friends house or something :P</p>

<p>oh well. this was a pretty pointless rambling ^_^</p>

<p>I cant speak to your situation, but Im a results person. To me, if someone get the results they want and are living up to their potential, it doesnt matter what they do in their spare time. If they aren't, then it's time to reevaluate how that time is spent.</p>