Simply a Brazen Fool?

<p>I'm an incoming freshman interested in both MCB/premed and political science, so I've tried to balance my prospective schedule with a few social science and humanities prereqs and electives (my CalSO is on 28/29). However, I'm thinking of taking Chem 1A and either Math 1A or 16 in the fall. </p>

<p>But...I only scored 610 on SAT math on both attempts (granted that I hadn't taken a math class for several months before) and I only made it through precal in high school. </p>

<p>So my questions are: (1) Am I being unrealistic thinking that I can get an A in 1A or 16 along with chem/other classes during fall semester while also having fun (I'll be in Unit 3) and adjusting, given my relatively low math aptitude? and (2) Should I take 1A or 16? I'm under the impression that 16 is both easier and keeps the student from advancing in math as much later. Is this true?</p>

<p>I'm teaching myself calculus right now, and I'll probably review chem over the summer as well (took honors and AP as a sophomore). I don't think taking the online math diagnostic test would be the best idea for me, since I'm learning new material already.</p>

<p>If I come off as neurotic and long winded, well...maybe I need to work on that. Thanks for any advice!</p>

<p>you're going to need to take the 1 series at Cal if you haven't AP'd out of it. the 1 series is necessary for physics 8a/8b, which are premed prereqs. </p>

<p>yes, i think you may have a tough time in math. keep on top of it from day 1 and get help from your GSI at office hours.</p>

<p>You do NOT have to take the 1 series if you are pre-med, and neither is it necessary for Physics 8A/8B. However, you do have to take the 1 series if you major in MCB. You do not have to major in MCB to be pre-med. You can take the 16 Series and still be pre-med. Yes, it is easier, and to my knowledge, it will not hamper any math advancement in the future.</p>