Spring Break--Let Student Take Lead?

<p>Just curious as to what folks are doing about Spring Break? There's an airfare sale right now, but honestly I hope my S will do something other than come home to HI for Spring Break. Wondering how other folks handle this--we've never had a kid at college before.</p>

<p>When I was a student--yeah, back in the day--I only went home for summer break & only because my dad insisted & got me a job he insisted I work at instead of the jobs I got for myself at college/grad school. I always made my own plans for all my breaks & bought all my tickets or arranged whatever transportation I needed.</p>

<p>We asked S what he is planning for Thanksgiving & he said he'll figure out something (he's already had an invitation from my friend in LA & his aunt in SF + both the dorm & HI club have Thanksgiving available as well). Have already purchased Winter Break plane tickets. My inclination is to let S take the lead, even if the fares are higher by the time he decides what he wants to do. Would love to hear what folks who have been thru this before have found--my sister ALWAYS has flown her kids home to HI for summer, Spring Break & Winter Break & sometimes even shorter breaks.</p>

<p>Thanks.</p>

<p>My daughter only gets a week off for spring break so I don't want her flying home... but I was thinking that if she doesn't make other plans, it might be cool for me to meet her somewhere & we can vacation together. But right now we haven't even dealt with winter break yet -- I know she is very much looking forward to coming home from cold & wet NY to warm California.</p>