Strategies of managing student loan debt

<p>Hello forum parents,</p>

<p>I am a student entering my final year in college, and evaluating not only my the possibilities of my post-college future, but also the constraints. In sum, it looks like I will be leaving college (at a top liberal arts college) with a total debt burden of $16,500, with approximately half of this in subsidized loans, and half unsubsidized.</p>

<p>What recommendations can you give concerning the best ways of managing this debt, paying it off quickly, and making sure that such debt does not strangle my post-college plans?</p>

<p>Beyond simply recommendations, what financial information, particularly concerning debt, do you think that all college seniors should know?</p>

<p>If you plan to pay over the minimum required then pay off the ones with the highest interest rates first. Unsub Staffords have a 6.8% rate. Your subsidized Staffords probably have a mixture of rates so make sure you know which one has what rate.</p>

<p>If you will be borrowing for any other purpose (car purchase, credit card) then compare rates and make sure you choose wisely. For instance credit card rates will be higher so don't run up credit card interest to pay down extra on student loans. (in fact always pay off credit card balances every month as the interest rates are ridiculous) If you will have a car loan, again compare the interest rates. If you have a student loan with 5.6% interest and the car loan will be 6% then you are better off paying down the car loan. </p>

<p>Student loan interest is deductible for tax purposes.</p>

<p>PAY ON TIME!!!</p>