Switching to more prestigious public school?

<p>Will this have an effect on my chance of admission? (whether or not I’m a minority)</p>

<p>Well, I’m a Sophomore heading into my Junior year. I go to Carson High School, which isn’t a very good school, but I’m part of a SLC that focuses mostly on Honors/AP classes, so I have all honors. But due to certain circumstances, this summer I have to move in with my dad in Georgia. The school I’m looking forward to going to has a much better reputation, and they say that they send kids regularly to top schools like Brown, Harvard, Yale, etc. They have quite a few AP and Honors classes also. And for comparison, Carson High has a 3 out of 10 on Greatschools.net, while this school has a 10 out of 10. Would it look better or worse on my application in my senior year? I have a 3.7 GPA right now.</p>

<p>The way that many admission officers put it, it doesn't seem to matter where you go to school. As long you take advantage of all the possibilities at that school (take whatever AP/Honors course they offer...which you seem to be doing). They evaluate you based on what your school offers...meaning that they don't compare you to other students who may have more AP/Honors oppotunities.<br>
Simply put moving to this new school can't hurt, as long as your able to handle the cahnge in environment and the new course load/ expectations that come with this new school. The college admissions game is finicky so I wouldn't let moving to a new school let you lose sleep. :) good luck when you have to go through all of this in a few years.</p>