The better Engineering school choice?

<p>I am torn between UC Santa Barbara and CAL Poly Slo.
I know if I want to do graduate work UCSB is the choice.
Rumor has it CAL Poly Slo is the a great Engineering school and better than most UCs.
My question here is...which is the better choice for a better future? For example: If I were to get a job will there be a difference between getting hired or not depending of which University I graduated from? </p>

<p>Is a</p>

<p>Cal Poly SLO has detailed career survey information available:
Graduate</a> Status Report 08-09 - Career Services - Cal Poly</p>

<p>Unfortunately, UCSB, like most schools, has relatively limited information available:
<a href="http://bap.ucsb.edu/IR/2006_UG_Alumni_Survey/Employment-WEB.pdf%5B/url%5D"&gt;http://bap.ucsb.edu/IR/2006_UG_Alumni_Survey/Employment-WEB.pdf&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p>

<p>So Cal Poly is the way to go?</p>

<p>ucsb is more known but it's not gonna make much of a difference if your goal is grad school. personally i've never heard of cal poly</p>

<p>Cal Poly is probably a little better if you want a job right after graduating. UCSB is probably a little better if you wanna go to grad school. Both are good and comparable schools though so I wouldn't base your decision on that alone. Visit both if you haven't already and see which you think you'd feel more comfortable at.</p>

<p>I would go to UCSB personally, just because my friends that go to Cal Poly say that their classes are pretty easy conceptually and there isn't that much theory. But if you're really only interested in getting a good job, Cal Poly may be better than UCSB.</p>

<p>Cal Poly and UCSB are probably comparable universities for undergraduate overall. Cal Poly will definitely be more career oriented than UCSB. So if you plan to work after undergraduate, Cal Poly would be an excellent choice.</p>