The future for ALL our children?

<p>After interacting with LOTS of former high school graduates, who are encountering great difficulties in jobs, housing, student loans, etc., I've come to the conclusion that our young people will ultimately rise up and re-invent themselves and become entrepreneurs and creative problem solvers! Pain brings change...</p>

<p>Are you as hopeful?</p>

<p>As a recent grad, I say no-- at least not for many many more generations to come. I think a small minority of people encounter those great difficulties and figure out how to prevail, but by my observation it seems like most people are really, really struggling to find a way to survive with their current circumstances and end up just giving up and driving themselves further and further into debt. I don't think the ability to reinvent oneself, or rather the drive and intelligence to do so, is universal.</p>

<p>I am always hopeful about America, it's citizens and it's future.</p>

<p>
[quote]
After interacting with LOTS of former high school graduates

[/quote]
</p>

<p>Former high school graduates? Were their diplomas revoked? :D</p>

<p>I think our country is just going through the growing pains that all advanced nations go through. We are now learning that rapid growth and easy wealth can't continue forever. Now we will start evolving into more of a western-European-style society in which we trade some amount of social mobility and economic opportunity for greater security and equality. Our young people will grow up to be less acquisitive and more philosophical, and more content, than previous generations.</p>