<p>The Sweet Shop has been an FSU fixture since 1924. Sadly, it closed in 2008. Rumor has it that someone has bought it. Here is some historical info:</p>
The Sweet Shop has been a well-known and well-loved part of college life at both FSCW and FSU for at least four generations. Originally constructed in 1921 by Moses Demetree as a family home, the building was soon leased and converted in 1922 to business use by T. J. Hawes, who ran it as The Wisteria Tea Room for the ladies of FSCW. The business was taken over in 1924 by the Frain family who renamed the little restaurant The Sweet Shop. The Blount family took over as proprietors in 1926, and enlarged the business by joining the Jefferson Street structure to the duplex that was located behind it on Gray Street. The Blounts also added the architecturally out-of-character but kitschy front porch to expand seating in the 1940s. The Sweet Shop remained a Blount family business until 1978, when the last family member retired. Since then the business has been operated by a various individuals until it was closed in early 2008.</p>
<p>After the Mecca Grill was demolished a few years ago, The Sweet Shop is the only remaining iconic “Malt Shop” left on the university perimeter, and is probably in eminent danger of being lost if the University does not intervene to promote its continued existence.
Scroll down to page 9 for a photo.</p>
Photo from the 50's.</p>
A postcard, date unknown.</p>