Theories to explain UCLA decisions?

<p>well, UCLA is a very strange case indeed...4.0 transfer students with all pre-reqs getting rejected....while 3.40s getting accepted...what could be the reason? the personal statement? could the adcoms be smoking marijuana?</p>

<p>without knowing what the 3.40's background, essay, etc...it would be hard to speculate.</p>

<p>I'm a 3.4 and feel like I had one of those "compelling essays" I am a first generation college student, not saying it was important but I focused on this in my essay coupled with my extreme love for my major did have a 4.0 in my major requirements, the math really brought my gpa down B's in stats and pre-calc. Also several a semester with all C's but it was my first year of college ever and showed improvement. They want to see a trend where your grades improve. Believe me I'd be the first to question the fact why 4.0 got rejected but I wouldn't hate on the person who got in with lower stats without knowing their circumstance.</p>

<p>Mex, I am also the first person in my family to go to college as well.....</p>

<p>While it is disconcerting to learn that very capable students didn't get in, you have to realize that they are looking for more than numbers, but for a certain type of student population. Read the articles on affirmative action and you will see how aggressive they are at attracting and admitting students who are not just consumers, but people who will make a difference within the community and the world in general.</p>

<p>For you to make a pejorative comment about them....doesn't really send a good message either. Perhaps they actually know what they're doing? Let them do their job and we can just sit on our own laurels for a time and soak it up.</p>

<p>I know a PolySci major with a 3.2 who got accepted to UCLA. *** X 10.</p>