tips for a rising freshman :D

<p>I'm a pretty decent student. (Been taking all honors and got As in them yada yada yada) But sadly I'm an introvert. Even worse I'm an introvert gunning for a top university. (Cornell-College of Engineering- and applying for ED if I think I'll have a decent chance) So, if you awesome people of CC could humor me with some advice on how to get teachers/counselor to give me good recs/recommend me for stuff and what are good ECs/volunteer work I should do. I know I should just chill out, but my mind won't be at rest 'till I have some sort of a plan! :) I'm a girl and plan on majoring in Comp Sci btw.</p>

<p>Well first off you wouldn't apply to their engineering school, they have another school specifically for comp sci. Other than that, I'm in your same boat...except I, not an introvert, but I'm looking into my local colleges to see if I can find some form or engineering or comp sic research or internship opportunity.</p>

<p>if you're a rising freshmen, you have the chance to totally reinvent yourself and develop an amazing college app by senior year. first off, get into and take the most challenging courses. challenge yourself to match/beat the other top students in your grade. make sure you join a lot of activities freshmen year to find out what you enjoy. try participating more and more each day in class. definitely try a sport.</p>

<p>Oh and for comp sci, find a summer class or even teach yourself c++and java, I'm working on c++ and a friend and I will probably develop an apple app later on.</p>

<p>I'm a rising sophomore, and I'll tell you everything I didn't know last year. I wish I knew about this forum then...</p>

<ul>
<li>Do NOT procrastinate. Make a schedule for yourself, and follow it.</li>
<li>Do what the teachers tell you (sounds easy, but it's not at times)</li>