To which schools should I apply for Mechanical Engineering?

<p>Hi there.</p>

<p>I am an international student and I want to study mechanical engineering in the U.S.
It's a little bit more complicated though because back in Europe I could study at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, which is considered a top school for engineering worldwide. In addition, it is a safe school for me (without taking any additional tests), it would just cost me about $1000 tuition half a year and I would receive my degree in 3 years (which is standard in Europe).</p>

<p>There are reasons why I would prefer to study in the U.S., including that I would like to be taught in English (instead of being taught in my native language at ETH, German), experience the in my opinion much more extravagant student life and university spirit, and that I would prefer to study abroad. I also want to study in the U.S. because it would make it easier to be together with my girlfriend (possibly even the only possibility). </p>

<p>So far, I want to apply to MIT, Stanford, UCB, and Caltech.
I think I am a competitive candidate but I know that under no circumstances there is any guarantee that I would get into one of these schools.</p>

<p>Right now, I am agonizing whether I should expand my list of schools I want to apply to.
I am considering to apply to UCLA and USC and Georgia Tech.
Is Georgia Tech really that good? It is ranked #3 for mechanical engineering but to me it doesn't seem to be a very competitive school.
The ETH in Zurich is ranked #8 by U.S. News and World Report for Engineering worldwide.
I just do not want to apply to less competitive and excellent schools than the ETH AND pay $40000 a year more...</p>

<p>Another reason why I would prefer studying in the U.S. is that I cannot double major at ETH.
I really would like to double major in Mechanical Engineering and Entrepreneurship.