too much for my first semester?? need second opinion

<p>I'm a freshman attending a large state university. i'm also pre-med and in school's honor program. My issue is that i want to take a freshman leadership seminar worth one credit hour, putting my course load at 17 credit hours.</p>

<p>Here is my schedule without the leadership seminar:</p>

<p>MWF- Gen Chem w/ 3 hour lab once a week (4 hr)
MWF- honors anthropology (3 hr)
MTWF- honors integral calculus (4 hr)
MWF- honors philosophy (3 hr)
W- freshman research seminar (1 hr)
M- Intro to honors program seminar--all honors freshman are required to take this, non-academic class (1 hr)</p>

<p>This leadership seminar is important to me. Do you think I am taking too much on in my first semester?</p>

<p>Well, lets do the math.</p>

<p>5 classes on Monday, 1 class on Tuesday, 5 classes on Wed., 4 classes on Friday.</p>

<p>Question is: do you think that all of those classes are neccessary?</p>

<p>It doesn't matter that one class is "just an Intro/Seminar so it doesn't really count." Chances are that it will still require a great deal of work. And on top of that, some of the courses you're taking are honor level courses, which is more rigorous and require much more work than the basic, non-honor courses. Since you're asking for my opinion, I feel that you should drop atleast one (the antrho. or philo. since they don't really relate to the pre-med major). You have to remember this is your first ever semester, and while you have 7 other semesters, you only have one, first ever semester -- and you don't want your first ever semester to be complete hell.</p>

<p>Just saying....</p>

<p>Good Luck with whatever your decision is! :D</p>

<p>
[quote]
Do you think I am taking too much on in my first semester?

[/quote]

No, not at all. It looks just about right.</p>

<p>When I think seminar I'm thinking not much work also, but if you can check with someone, do that.</p>