Transfer essay for UT Austin

<p>Hello,
This is my first attempt at the Personal Statement Essay.
I know this is very rough, but would appreciate some feedback and to know whether I am on the right track or need to scratch it and start again.
I am applying to transfer to UT Austin to the COLA to major in History. I have an AA in History and a 3.9+gpa. I am a non-traditional student going back after 14 years away from college
Thanks!</p>

<p>When my step-sister graduated from college 2 years ago it caused me to pause and look back on my life. When I was 18 I went straight from school to college in my favorite town of Aberystwyth. However, I was not ready emotionally or mentally for college having barely scraped through my A-Levels without a mental breakdown. The breakdown came in December and I dropped out of University in March. From there I fell back to the occupation that was the easiest for me mentally and emotionally: Grooming top level show-jumping horses. I quickly moved to Belgium and in this job I got a cultural, historical, and social education that I would never have received had I stayed at school. I spent 4 years travelling all over Europe with the horses. Almost every night I shared a dinner table with 10-20 people, each from a different country, eating the food of the country that we happened to be in that day and we talked late into the night, not only about work, but about the countries and cultures we came from.