Transfer?

<p>I am considering going to grad school for economics (although right now I am only a sophomore). The problem is I go to a university that has an economics faculty in transition, because many of the professors retired last year. I have read that it is important to get letters of rec. from well respected researchers in the profession and the school doesn't have very many. Should I look at transferring to a more school with a more reputable faculty? A further complication is that I have about 80% of my tuition and fees paid for right now, via Resident Assistantship and scholarships. I have a solid G.P.A. (3.98), but my ACTs weren't that impressive (24). I don't know if ACTs still matter.</p>

<p>The key question for you is, I think: With whom did these new faculty persons study? If they are products of top programs / noted senior scholars, then you should be fine. </p>

<p>As a side note, since standardized tests don't seem to be your thing, I would suggest prepping well in advance for the GREs.</p>

<p>Professor X, thank you for your response. You are correct. I do not excel on standardized tests. On the ACTs however, I didn't study prior to sitting for the exam. I will not make that mistake again. The academic qualifications of the faculty here are mediocre. Most of them received PhDs from middle of the road institutions. The department doesn't have any professors who graduated from top schools.</p>

<p>It sounds a little familiar to me. Think about the department's economics major. Does it really demand a lot from you? Are its requirements similiar to graduate schools' admissions criterion? Where do the grads go? Look at their honors theses to get a sense of how well trained the students have become with these professors.</p>