Transfering to harvard advice...

<p>I'm a junior economics major at Johns Hopkins and am trying to transfer into harvard. I applied last year, but did not get in. This will be my last semester at hopkins as i dont like it and cant take it anymore (academically and socially). My gpa is 3.5 which i think is pretty good because of the extremely competitive grading system here. I've done very well in all my upper level classes and really like econ, but jhu does not have a good econ dept. I think i have a somewhat decent chance to get in but if some one could offer me some advice on what I can do to increase my chances i would really appreciate it. Thanks</p>

<p>steve</p>

<p>...A little about some of my recent activies/jobs</p>

<p>-This summer I worked for Merrill Lynch's Basic Value Mutual Fund, a fund that contains over 8 billion dollars in assets. I was a summer analyst there and met, and interviewed CEO's and CFO's from companies including McDonalds, Tyco, Home Depot, Union Pacific, Norfolk Southern, Viacom, Comcast and others to asses company prospects. It was an awesome internship, no busy work, all action. I got to go to functions of all sorts, and often was the only representive from Merrill Lynch attending.</p>

<p>-I am currently working on a business plan that entails building a paper company that revolves around the pulping of non wood fibers, more specifically, kenaf.</p>

<p>-I recently worked with a team of graduate students on a thermal based chemical detector that we developed here at hopkins which is a low cost alternative to current sensors with less vulnerabilty to false positives. The sensor can be custom tailored to respond to individual or classes of target compounds(ie any chemical/chemical compound), and in some cases, quantification of the target compound is possible. This product will eventually be marketed to the Department of Homeland Security and private chemical companies.</p>