UC how much more selective for international students?

<p>Hi, </p>

<p>I am a student applying from India.
I was just wondering how much more selective UC schools are regarding international students?</p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

<p>Will you be applying as a freshman or a transfer?</p>

<p>A lot of international students attend California Community Colleges first. This has two advantages: it gives them priority consideration when applying to UCs (including Berkeley and UCLA), and it also saves a heck of a lot on tuition because CCCs are so much less expensive than UCs (even paying non-resident tuition).</p>

<p>If you're applying as a freshman it will be a bit more challenging, but it's easier now than it was a few years ago. Because non-resident students pay so much more, UCs have been expanding their enrollment. Essentially what they're doing is keeping in-state admission numbers (that is, the number of admits) static, but letting in more out-of-state students. The idea is that the out-of-state students subsidize the in-state students.</p>

<p>Anyway, if you're looking for advice, I'd do two years at a California Community College. You'll have more advantages than just cost and priority admissions to UC. For instance, lower division classes at CCCs are often much smaller than at UC. </p>

<p>Take a look at Math 1A and 1B (lower-division calculus) at Berkeley: 200 students and 400 students, respectively. At Citrus College (one of the two I attended), the comparable classes each have just 40 students. Going the CCC route affords you the best of both worlds.</p>