Unwanted College

I’m a sophomore in HS and I live in a town called Gainesville and it revolves around UF (University of Florida). Both my parents live here and work at UF. The problem is that both of them are forcing me to go to UF even though I really don’t want to and don’t see myself going there.

I’m a really smart and high-acheiving student. I have a 4.83 gpa and lots of extracuricculrs. My dream college is Brown University or some other ivy league school. However, my parents already told me that my goal should be to get into UF and study there for at least 6 years. They expect me to live with them for this time. They are also constantly paying for some college savings which only pays for use in Florida colleges. Even though they really really want me to go there and even my siblings are going to go there, I just don’t see myself going to that school. I want to study in Brown university or lots of other universities.

It feels like I can’t tell them that I don’t want to go to a college in Florida because the other day my dad told me that he won’t be allowing me to apply to any other college than one in Florida since they are constantly paying for it.

Please help me and tell me what I should do.]

The University of Florida is a very good university.

If you were to look at the graduate students at Ivy League universities, you would find that a lot of them did their undergraduate degrees at schools that are lower ranked than UF.

University can be very expensive. It sounds like you parents are concerned about the cost of your education. This is a very reasonable concern. You would be well served to avoid debt for your bachelor’s degree, particularly if this is possible while attending a university as strong as UF.