UVa Mechanical Engineer Curious about Umich

<p>I want to go to grad school at Umich for Automotive Engineering. I'm only a sophomore at UVa, but I'm entirely set on automotive engineering, since I chose to do MechE because of my passion for automobiles. </p>

<p>I called uMich's graduate recruiter and she said there was a 5 year undergrad/grad program (combined). I have contemplated transferring so that I can join this program to get my masters sooner rather than later. Not to mention, uMich's undergrad program is ranked higher than UVa's (not to rag on UVa's engineering- it's quite good, but it's small and doesn't seem to offer much in terms of automotive research- my passion). </p>

<p>Anyway. I'm doing well at UVa's engineering school, and I'm wondering... would Umich's undergraduate engineering program be more difficult or easier than UVa's? (not that it's possible to know for sure) I ask because if I were to continue here at UVa, I could probably graduate with a GPA above 3.5, which would help me get into Umich's graduate program, but if I transfer and hurt my GPA and I don't get into the graduate program, well, that'd make transferring completely pointless.</p>

<p>The program you are talking about is the SGUS (sequential graduate undergraduate study) Program. Its a pretty rigorous program considering that you need a gpa of 3.2-3.6 to be able to do it.</p>

<p>For a masters in Automotive Engineering, you need a 3.6:
Master</a> of Automotive Engineering at Michigan Engineering</p>

<p>For a masters in Mechanical Engineering, you also need a 3.6 (last time I checked).
Michigan</a> Engineering | Multiple Degree Options</p>

<p>For masters in Energy Systems Engineering, you need a 3.5
[</a> Master of Energy Systems Engineering ] [ Michigan Engineering ] [ Professional Engineering ]</p>

<p>I'm not too sure which graduate program you are looking at.