volunteering @ shands

<p>I'm an incoming freshman and would really love to volunteer at Shands starting in the fall. I have all the necessary paperwork, etc... but I was wondering if this is advisable to do my first semester. Will it be too much to handle? Also, I'm a bit nervous for the interview.</p>

<p>any advice you could offer would be great!</p>

<p>You're only scheduled one day a week, for 3 hours at a time (for example, Monday from 5 pm-8 pm). It's very easy, and if you absolutely have to miss, you can come in at a different time, or stay longer one day, or whatever. The volunteer coordinator will advise against this, but truth it, the hospital and departments are so large that they typically have no idea whether you are there or not for your scheduled shift. Nor do they really care (this is especially true in the ED). The interview is not a real interview - it's more of an orientation. You go in, they go over the responsibilities for your area, your responsibilities as a volunteer, and then they schedule you for additional training if your department requires it (the ones that do are the NICU and Emergency Department, as far as I know... and the OR, but you aren't allowed to do that until after a year of volunteering). It's pretty difficult to get in as a volunteer, so I recommend calling the day it opens up for new volunteers to schedule an interview - this is usually at 8 AM on a Monday. The place will be crazy, so keep calling until you get an answer. Also - know your first, second, and third choice areas. Your first choice may already be filled!</p>

<p>How far is Shands from UF campus?
Do they have frequent bus service?
How long is the bus ride?</p>

<p>Shands is part of UF... it's on campus. It's over by Archer though so whether or not you want to walk or take a bus would depend which part of campus you're coming from.</p>