What does this mean? Am I sick?

<p>I'm a high school sophomore (16) but I'm hoping some of your parents can help me out. I donated blood yesterday at school. While some were fainting, vomiting, etc. I did just fine and was able to drive home a few minutes later, without trouble.</p>

<p>However, this morning, while still asleep (it was like 11 a.m., I slept in) I got a call from Virginia Blood Services (the people who collect the blood). I'm scared that they found something wrong with me and were notifying me. It's too late to do anything now and I have to wait until Monday. I'm not sure I can wait.</p>

<p>Why else would they call? I did the double red blood cell donation which makes me ineligible for 112 days (until 9/11/09) so they're not calling to ask me to give again. What could it be, it's driving me insane!!!</p>

<p>maybe it was just to check on you as you did the double? i would think if something wrong they would have asked to speak with your parents also as you are 16.</p>

<p>They're not allowed to speak with my parents. Confidentiality. It stated in the permission form my parents had to sign that if anything should come up, health related or otherwise, they would contact me directly.</p>

<p>What exactly did they notify you of? What did they say was "wrong" with your blood? It could be a lot of different things, and you do not necessarily have any disease. Your blood can be disqualified for many different reasons - some are serious but many are not.</p>

<p>In any case it is important to follow-up on this. Take whatever information they provide to you and discuss its meaning with your doctor.</p>

<p>This has happened to me - perhaps your iron was too low. If they don't check it on the spot, I think they do it later. If the iron count is low, then they do make an effort to tell you because your doctor will want to figure out why it's low. If you're female, the likely culprit would be your monthly cycle.</p>