Where Can I Paint?

<p>Incoming freshman here. I’m an avid painter, and I would like to paint whenever I feel like it.</p>

<p>Problem is, my medium of choice is oil paint. I’m concerned about where I can go work on my paintings whenever I want to, and I’m not so sure if my roommate would like the smell of linseed oil lingering in our room. Is it possible to get a small studio space that I can access at most hours (if not all)? Would a residential hall allow me to set up an easel in one of the common areas?</p>

<p>Note: I may or may not choose visual arts as a concentration, if that affects my ability to get studio space.</p>

<p>hey temeraire, i paint with oils too! i was wondering the same thing. i think they do have studio space, but you might need to be a visual arts concentrator. are you planning on taking classes at RISD too?</p>

<p>Yep, I'm planning to take a few classes at RISD (though I've heard they're intense haha). I think I'll cover advanced foundations and intro sculpture at Brown, and then take some more specialized classes at RISD. Do you know which RISD classes are available to Brown students though?</p>