Which operating system is more convenient for college?

<p>I'm an international student starting college this fall at Penn State university for an engineering major. I need to buy a tablet in order to take notes and record during class, but I need to know which operating system is more convenient, Mac or Windows/Android. Since I know Mac is popular in America I'm thinking it might be better to get an iPad and a Mac for Uni but I'm not sure. </p>

<p>Can somebody offer some advice, please?</p>

<p>When it comes to things like “taking notes” and “recording lectures”, there is very little to no difference between differently branded tablets, provided the two of them have the necessary hardware to do what you need them to do (in your case, type and record). Go with whatever’s cheaper, provided the price doesn’t adversely affect the quality and performance of what you’re buying.</p>

<p>FYI: Never buy something because it’s “popular”.</p>

<p>I wasn’t thinking of buying because they’re popular I was considering it because if most proffesors and students have them then Apple would be more convenient since its not compatible with windows. So in the event of say, the teacher, who has a Mac wants to give the presentation file to his students I can just take it and if I have a Mac will work just fine, but if I have Windows then I would have to convert the file and tinker with it. </p>

<p>Popularity isn’t my concern, its mostly convenience. If the school has mostly Windows run systems then I will discards Apple, but until then I’m still considering all my options.</p>