Who is a physicist?

<p>Is a recent college grad with a BS degree in physics technically a "physicist"? I ask because the boss tells clients that he has a physicist on staff even though this new hire does very little that has to do with physics. This new employee happens to be the boss's son and gets paid the same as I do because of this title even though I have 30 years experience that he does not. Just asking.</p>

<p>Straight from the Dictionary on my desk:</p>

<p>
[quote]
physicist (ˈfɪzɪsɪst) </p>

<p>— n </p>

<p>a person versed in or studying physics

[/quote]
</p>

<p>Now to answer your question. By dictionary....yes. In your world....I have no idea.</p>

<p>DH has a degree in Applied Physics. Never referred to himself as a physicist.</p>

<p>
[quote]
This new employee happens to be the boss's son and gets paid the same as I do because of this title even though I have 30 years experience that he does not.

[/quote]
</p>

<p>The title of "boss's son" is much more relevant than the title of "physicist".</p>

<p>I would not consider someone who majored in physics, got a BS, but does not do physics in their job a physicist. Would you consider someone who got a BA in music, but does not play music a musician? Wikipedia says:</p>

<p>A physicist is a scientist who does research in physics.</p>

<p>In most fields I would think someone needs an advanced degree to be properly called a xxxxist.</p>

<p>On the other hand, bosses can say anything they want. If the marketplace objects it will show up in the bottom line.</p>