worried about changing majors

<p>so... i am an incoming freshman who was accepted in ucsd as a psychology major. after taking the psychology class in cc second semester i have realized that it is not my passion.</p>

<p>i would like to, instead, change my major from psychology to computer engineering. </p>

<p>how difficult would it be and what would i have to do to change majors?</p>

<p>You are totally not alone! I ended up not liking the major that I came into UCSD declared. First things first: Which college at UCSD have you been admitted to? Second have you looked at the four-year plans of each college?</p>

<p>While I can't testify if switching into computer engineering will be easy, your best bet is to call your academic adviser at your college. I don't have specific links...but a quick Google search (ex. John Muir UCSD) will bring you to your college webpage. From there browse for the Academic Advising section.</p>

<p>I ask about the four-year plans because these will help you map out what classes (if any) are going to/already have overlapped between the two majors. </p>

<p>Most major changes require a simple form to be submitted indicating that you want to change. Others (more competitive) sometimes need department approval and such. I am not an engineer (Poli Sci :D ) but here is the link for the UCSD computer engineering webpage for you to read up on.</p>

<p>UCSD</a> Department of Computer Science and Engineering - Undergraduate Admissions</p>

<p>Good luck, and I hope it all turns out ok!</p>

<p>Switching into Computer Engineering (or any computer science major) is very, very hard because it is impacted. I tried switching from undeclared to Bioengineering and they wouldn't let me. =[</p>

<p>But if you're really serious about switching, contact the CS department and ask about it.</p>