Would I be considered for financial aid?

<p>I am an international student. I would need at least $30k in aid because my parents are already paying for my sister's college ($52k). So it will not be possible for them to pay the whole fee for my college. </p>

<p>Would the colleges I apply to notice the this and offer me financial aid?</p>

<p>Financial aid policies will vary greatly depending on the school. On top of which you'd need to be looking for colleges that will meet financial need for international students, and that limits your options too.</p>

<p>However, even if you did get accepted to a college that would meet your full need, they would not look at it like, your parents are paying 52K for your sister so they'll adjust your need accordingly. What they might do is determine that your parents can pay, say 60K for example, for education costs. They would then likely expect 30K of that to go to your sister's costs and 30K to go to your costs. They would not subsidize your education so your sister's college could get more money than they can.</p>

<p>True....
Your school would expect your parents to pay some amount for each child. </p>

<p>So...even if your school is a "full need" school, your school isn't going to sit back and agree to pay for most/all of your costs so that your parents can continue paying for ALL of your sister's school. </p>

<p>Your school isn't going to be a charity so that your sister's school can get all of your parents' money. Does that make sense?</p>

<p>If your sister is going to a school that doesn't give much or any aid to international students then that is going to be a big problem because YOUR school is going to expect your parents to pay a decent amount to YOUR school. And that amount may be a large amount. </p>

<p>If your sister is going to a school that gives some aid to int'l students, then she will also have to apply for aid. </p>