Chance an International kid?

<p>Gender: Male
Ethnicity: Asian (Indian)
Type: International Student</p>

<p>Predicted grades for IB:</p>

<p>HL Economics 7
HL Business Management 7
HL Math 6</p>

<p>SL English 5
SL French Ab. Initio 7
SL Chemistry 7
Bonus Points: 2/3
IB Total: 41/45</p>

<p>Not sure how the IB grades translate into GPA. School doesn't rank us, but I know I am in the top 5%.
Taking the highest course load possible.
Standardized Testing:</p>

<p>SAT I - Math 720, CR 670, Writing 620. Total: 2010 (1390)</p>

<p>Retake in November or worst case December.</p>

<p>SAT IIs taking Chemistry & Math II in October, aiming 800 at Math II and 700+ Chemistry.</p>

<p>Academic Awards:</p>

<p>-UK Senior Math Challenge Silver Medallist: Top 10% of the world.
-Kumon Math Program - Gold Medallist 4 years consecutive and member of the Advanced Student Honor Roll.
-Winner of the Principal's Award at school for achieveing Academic merits in 7 out of 8 subjects.
-Academic Excellence Award winner - 9th and 10th grade.</p>


<p>-Model United Nations - 4 years.
Positions held: Assistant President - Special Conference Sub Committee 2, Chair - Security Council, Chair - General Assembly 1, Deputy Chair - General Assembly 6. Organized a conference with a team of 3 others for middle school kids: Coordinated it ourselves.
Awards won: "Best Delegate Award" won 3 times in 5 conferences.</p>

<p>-Debating Team - 4 years.
Captain for the past year, won "best speaker" award 7 times during the year.</p>

<p>-Student Council - 1 year.
Position held: Chief Treasurer and Leader of Fundraising Committee. Organized school prom and winter dance; Completed the budgeting for the entire council as well as balancing the accounts.</p>

<p>-Cricket - 8 years.
Vice-Captain of team for the past 4 years. Recently won "Most Improved Player" and nominated "best bowler" for the calender year having taken most wickets for the team.
Used to be a member of the country's national cricket team before starting IB (way too hectic).</p>

<p>-Mathematics Peer Tutor - 2 years.
Position Held: Senior Tutor; Helped other high school kids with math problems during lunchtime and after school on a voluntary basis</p>

<p>-UN Day: Indian Folk Dance Performer.
Never learnt dancing in my life, Spent the past 4 months training every weekend to perfect the steps.</p>

<p>-Weight Training Club - 1 year.
Woke up every morning at 6 and went to school at 6.30 to train, weight lifting - rigorous exercise.</p>

<p>-Frisbee Club - 1 year.
This was more of a fun thing, rather than being professional. Learnt a few new frisbee tricks and the art of playing ultimate frisbee.</p>

<p>Community Service:</p>

<p>-Institute of Mental Health - 2 years.
Position Held: Volunteer Leader; Coordinated activities and organized groups to volunteer at the institute of mental health; Organized fun badminton games with the patients and befriended them over the 2 years.</p>

<p>-Home for the Autistic back in India - Spent the summer volunteering there.
Taught autistic kids basic english letters and words, painted with them etc.</p>

<p>-PE Service Group - 1 year.</p>

<p>Work Experience/Internships:</p>

<p>-Interned 2 weeks at a consultancy firm in India which involved maintaining and auditing financial records of client firms.</p>

<p>-Will be interning this December at a micro finance bank in India to learn more about development economics and self-financing. As a part of the internship, I will be visiting many villages with an experienced economist to monitor the income situation of the poor and the status of poverty-alleviating mechanisms in these rural areas.</p>

<p>I am looking at applying RD without any financial aid. </p>

<p>Intended Major: Economics.</p>

<p>all i can say is good luck getting a 6 in HL Math.</p>