College Decisions - After the Fact

Hello all :slight_smile:

I am a freshman attending Brown University. I chose Brown after a getting into 3 Ivys (Brown, Harvard, and UPenn), Williams, Pomona, USC, and an in-state school. After visiting campuses, my decision came down to Brown and Harvard. I thought back on my visits, remembered how much I loved Brown and its campus’s dynamic, and I matriculated there. I could not ignore the sense of peace and happiness I felt just walking around the campus and interacting with the admitted/current students.

Unfortunately, my family and friends did not take my decision as positively. My mom didn’t speak to me for a week because I turned down Harvard. My dad was shocked for a day or so before he finally came around. My aunt was furious, claiming she would have never let her child do what I had done. Many people were confused or even angry with me. There were a few individuals that understood my choice and stood by me. But this was kind of a rough time for me. For most of my high school career, I pushed myself and excelled for both myself AND my parents. There was always, always a desire to make them proud and happy. So when I went against their hopes/dreams for their only kid and chose Brown over the H bomb, it was the first real decision I’d made for only myself and my happiness in a long time.

Let me preface what I’m about to say with this: there is no denying my love for Brown, even today. It’s a wonderful institution, and the academic freedom is unparalleled. I feel like I am studying exactly what I love to learn; everyone in my classes is engaged in their studies because they, too, are studying what they love. But each time I return home, I still receive questions of “How could you turn down Harvard?” “Brown over Harvard? Really?” or snidely asked “How’s Brown, wherever the heck that is?”