<p>Seems as though I have seen a thread on this before, but I cannot locate it. DS just got his restricted license. He and his dad will be driving through three or four states on a trip. How can I find out whether or not ds can drive in those states? One wrinkle: our state allows a restricted license at age 14, which ds will be for three more weeks. I am thinking this might matter. </p>
<p>I would check the DMV website for each of the states they will be traveling through. Different states have different rules for driving with restricted licenses and their age requirements might vary as well.</p>
<p>For Maryland drivers, you need to be 15 and 9 months and can’t drive in any other state with a restricted license. I don’t think it matters what the other states laws are. I don’t know about the rules for out of state drivers with provisional licenses that drive in Maryland. You might want to call your state’s DMV also. It may not matter what the other states say if your state doesn’t allow him to drive in another state.</p>
<p>I think we have it sorted out. Some states do accept other states’ “rules,” for restricted licenses. Almost a full faith and credit concept. Others, however, absolutely do not. Someone located the older thread I was speaking of and pointed me to it.</p>
<p>If you let anyone drive with a restricted license or any license that is not recognized in the state where the car is being driven, if there is an accident or if the car is pulled over, there could be a lot problems. THat is the risk you take.</p>
<p>In Iowa, the license for 14 year olds restricted driving to: between home and school or work only. At least that’s what it was 10 years ago when my niece was driving at 14. That license was a left over rule from the days when many kids grew up on farms and had been driving farm trucks, tractors and equipment for years before they turned 16. In my niece’s case, she lived in suburban Des Moines, without a tractor in sight.</p>
<p>cpt I don’t think she means restricted like revoked. I think she mean restricted like a learners permit. Clearly Hog - girl is from a farm state, Fly me suggested Iowa or SD as those that currently let 14 year olds behind the wheel. I can see a 14 year old driving in Iowa. There is an a lot of open land there and it is terribly flat. Low population density. Not many surprises. I love how squarely their roads and counties are laid out. Very few crazy diagonal intersections. I liked living in Iowa. I can see a 14 year old safely learning to drive in Iowa. None of you PA or MD peolple need to panick. He is probably only going to swing throught the northern praire states; maybe hit IL or the Rocky Moutains. Now that mom has looked up the laws for each state there should be no need to worry. I think the whole point was to find out what the laws were rather than “risking it.”</p>
<p>And here I sit convinced that no one should get a license until they’re 18! The 16-year old brain is still underdeveloped–the lack of executive function and impulse control is clear to any parent. I can’t even imagine the lack of development in a 14 year old. And good heavens, so many 14 year old boys have barely begun to achieve any height. Do they use booster seats?</p>
<p>Our D fits nicely in our little Volvo but not so well in H’s larger one. We are shipping the smaller one to LA for her. She also fits OK in the van. She’s nearly 5’3" and 22 years old. Am glad my kids started driving later in life. We did not allow them to drive with their driver’s permits when we traveled, but I know my sister allowed her kids to learn to drive when they visited relatives in MN, using their permits (much more rural).</p>
<p>Agree that you need to check with the DMV & other rules/laws of the various states. Do not recall ever having someone brought into court charged with using an out-of-state driver’s permit so don’t believe that’s an issue in our state.</p>
<p>In Iowa you can get a learner’s permit at 14 and at 14 yrs, 6 months you can get a school license. To get a school license, you have to have had your permit for 6 months, have a clean driving record, live a least a mile from the school and the principal or school board president has to sign off on the application form. You can then use it to drive between the hours of 5am and 10pm and only on a pre-approved route which is the most direct route from you home to the school, between schools where you are enrolled, to off campus EC’s within the school district and to the gas station nearest to your approved route. You cannot drive outside the school district for any reason, you cannot drive to work. You can not stop on your way to school, except at a gas station. You can carry passengers, but you cannot stop to pick up or drop off passengers. That is what law says. </p>
<p>That being said, many people let their kids drive where ever and when ever they want on a school license. There have been several bad accidents recently where 14 year olds were driving, including one not far from us where a 14 year old girl was driving a van on the interstate late at night with three other girls when she crossed the median and hit another car head on. All four girls were killed, the oldest one had just turned 15. The driver’s parents are being sued, since they had given her permission to go ahead and drive off her route and after curfew.</p>