<p>I have a few Facebook friends that I’ve hidden, mostly because they post political views that I disagree with. Starting a week or so ago, I noticed that stories from pages that these friends “like” now appear on my home page. I checked with DH on this (he’s one of those hidden friends) and he didn’t like the story that appeared, he just liked the page. I got a new story every day until he unliked that page.</p>
<p>So, even though I have him hidden and he didn’t like the specific story, the story is at the top of my home page. Also, I realize, my poor friends might be getting stories from pages that I like thrust upon them.</p>
<p>Is this new? How can I change my settings to stop seeing these stories, and to make sure that my friends aren’t subjected to things that I like.</p>
<p>I don’t know if it’s new but I am very careful about “liking” any kind of commercial business or article. i have even seen the list of “likes” show up on the page itself. For instance, I liked a news article once from a major local news website. At the bottom of that website, there was my face saying “EPTR” likes this article. For the whole world to see, not just my FB friends. Not cool. I have also seen a feature where someone on my list reads an article online and it comes up on my news feed. I don’t think I need to know that a friend read an article about removing facial hair. Nor do I think she wants me to know!</p>
<p>I log completely out of Facebook and use google to find and read articles. Also, I think if you use the “social reader” thing… I think it’s an app … Whatever you link to will show up on your wall as “Eastcoascrazy read XYZ on social reader” </p>
<p>Recently Facebook changed EVERYONE’S email contact (on your homepage) to “<a href="mailto:eastcoascrazy@facebook.com”>eastcoascrazy@facebook.com</a>" from whatever your actual email address is. You can change it back, but sheesh! </p>
<p>As time goes on I resent Facebook’s meddling intrusiveness more than I like anything else about the site.</p>
<p>These kinds of issues will be the eventual downfall of Facebook.</p>
<p>I understand that they think they’ll make money only if the advertisers think they are getting sufficient info about us. But what I can’t understand is why Facebook continually makes changes like the email one without informing the users at all.</p>
<p>You can set the privacy for the social reader apps to “only me” so no one else can see what you read. There is no longer a “hide” button that permanently hides the posts from a friend. You need to unsubscribe from the friend’s posts. That is easy to do. You probably only hid one particular post. You can also just unsubscribe from activity posts by a friend, rather than all posts. There is still a “hide all” option for pages. </p>
<p>It is your friends’ responsibility to determine what they want to see that you post. If they are seeing things they don’t want to see, it is their fault for not knowing how to use privacy settings.</p>
<p>I agree. Never click on FB links and you will avoid much of this unwanted broadcasting of what video you watched, what article you read, etc. Just google the article title and access it separately from FB.</p>
<p>I have been notified that several FB friends have viewed borderline (tasteless at a minimum, or dirty, take your pick) videos and articles. Some of those folks would be mortified if they knew that everyone knew.</p>
<p>You also have to be aware of the relatively new relationship between Google and FB. Anything you “Like” or post on a public page can be found in a google search as of last November. And as far as I know there is no way to know whose page is set to private before posting on it.</p>
<p>I had a friend who was taking a graduate class in literature. The class required reading several literature books of which she was fully indulging in Cliffnotes to get through the class. Turns out, each time she checked out a chapter on whatever Cliffnotes site she was using, it was showing up in her newsfeed - and thus all her friends could see! So in one night she would have 5 different posts “Susie used (book title) chapter 1 on cliffnotes!” “Susie used (book title) chapter 2 on cliffnotes” etc!! So embarrassing!</p>
<p>People won’t get notified that you defended them, but you will no longer be listed as a friend so they can now that way. When you see a post on your wall or timeline, click to “unsubscribe.” They won’t know that.</p>
<p>But remember, all those unsubscribed friends can still see your stuff unless you defriend them.</p>
<p>My daughter learned a good technique from someone–each day, FB can tell you which of your friends has a birthday that day. That’s a good time to defriend the ones you aren’t really in contact with.</p>
<p>You can make your posts visible to only yourself. I don’t know why someone would bother to do that, but you can. You can also make a list of people to hide posts from so you can limit who sees your posts that way. There really are a lot of privacy features. Most people just don’t bother to figure them out.</p>
<p>Is this the fb help forum? I swear I have been going nuts with this. To other people, FB displays my name with my University affiliation under my name. Actually it displays my grad school. I really would prefer it not do this, because it looks like I am “bragging”, and it’s certainly not how I define myself. The only way I can get fb to stop displaying my grad school name is to delete it entirely from my profile. Then it displays my undergraduate name… ok, but I would prefer it just display my city name. Cannot for the life of me figure out how to do this. I tried the network thing, but networks are only schools, not cities.</p>
<p>icedragon, I think if you choose “hide” it just hides the one post, but if you choose “unsubscribe from Mary” you will not see more posts from Mary. I have unsubscribed people and do not see any more posts from them.</p>
<p>NJRes, this may apply only to the timeline format, but if you click “about” and then “edit” you can control who sees each piece of information so you don’t have to delete it. You can do a custom list and allow certain people to see it or only your friends or only you.</p>