How important are ECs in college?

<p>I always despised extracurriculars but I did a few to get into college. The problem is the kind of things I do in my spare time (that I actually enjoy) rarely, if ever involve other people least of all an organization. Being in an organization with no clear aim would just be a hellish waste of time to me. I like to read, write, play music, play puzzle games and moderate forums when I'm not doing homework (and given we have so much homework here I barely have time to read as is- I feel terrible when I'm doing something I don't really enjoy when I could be reading). I like to always learn something and my ideal extracurricular would be like taking an extra class. As a first semester Freshman I'm not in any clubs right now, and would rather keep it that way because nothing I tried out remotely interests me. The only club I would be willing to join over the long haul has no clear goal.</p>

<p>My advisor thinks that it shouldn't matter that much in graduate school applications but I'm still worried because it just sounds like one of the things I have to do to get anywhere in life. I do plan on applying to T20 schools and apply to some scholarships, which I suspect requires more than just being a natural wordsmith and a voracious reader.</p>

<p>I don't think ECs as far as clubs matter so much as in high school. A leadership position in one still probably looks great, but I think activities like undergraduate research are probably more important than club membership if there's not actually a club you feel passionate about joining.</p>

<p>I'd say either taking an extra class, participating in undergrad research, or getting a part-time job that is interesting to you (for example, I work as a tutor) should come before membership in clubs just to be in a club. If you're truly interested in the club then that's different, and clubs can be great for meeting people with common interests as well.</p>