International student .. lost in the pool ... + many inquiries ?

<p>Hello all ..
I am an international student and have those inquiries</p>

<p>I want to study abroad , probably in the states and i lack many info that cannot be found on the net </p>

<ol>
<li><p>if i took 1 gap year after high school ? how would this affect my application , exclude the ivy league coz i even dont dare playing the game with them.</p></li>
<li><p>if i joined least known universities , like michigan uni , Saint louis , nebraska uni ... etc does this mean that their study programs wont be that good ? how to know that and am far away ?</p></li>
<li><p>what is my chance for a full tuition scholarship in those universities if i have the following :</p></li>
</ol>

<p>SAT score 1420
SAT II ( chemistry 780 , math level IIC 800 , physcis 790 )
Toefl score 630
school GPA 4.00/4.00 </p>

<p>more than 300 hours volunteer , speeches , seminars and many ECs </p>

<p>..</p>

<p>Any advice towards that would be more than just appreciated </p>

<p>Thanks alot</p>

<p>umich is a public uni so if you are an intl you wont get any kinda finaid and scholarship is like extremely limited. if you want more scholarship, check out the top LACs like Williams, Amherst, Middlebury, etc., they're generous in giving intls finaid. but try to up your SATs a bit and make sure you have a hook. As for the ivies... they're famous for being ultra unpredictable, if you wanna go to the US make sure you apply for some safeties. Schools like Umich are actually very famous and have very high education qualities, dont get too obsessed with the ivies, which is sth most intls tend to do... actually many ppl give up ivies for schools like Williams or Amherst. Prestige doesnt mean everything - whether the school fits you is the most important thing, afterall you'd spend 4 yrs there and the last thing you want would be having a terrible experience in a famous school.</p>